• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Trying to fix issues on new to me M1008 - now won't start

CUCV1008

Finally got a M1008 recently that is mostly original minus stereo install and a 12V plug added in the cab. PO drove it very often. I drove it about 80 miles the first week with no issues at all. Volt meter stayed right at the small tick mark at the top of the green area; everything works but the fuel gauge. Since then more and more items have cropped up as I have only been able to put a few miles on it every few days. And now it won't even start. I am new to CUCV's and Diesels.

1) With the trans cold, it takes more throttle to get the truck moving; trans also doesn't clunk between the gears when I shift before moving. If I have been driving it a few minutes and stop and put it in park or reverse for example, it will clunk into each one.

- Tested so far: nothing to date

2) When purchased I noticed the trans oil pan had a slight sheen of fluid on it. Had zero leaks in driveway first two weeks of owning, then after not driving it a few days I go and see about a 10" circle of ATF on the concrete and see ATF dripping from a few bolt heads around the pan.

- Tested so far: fluid level where it should be on the stick (need to check when warm but currently won't start)

3) About two weeks ago, after not driving it a few days, I went to start up and got a quick squeal from under the hood. The next day when I drove it around the volt needle moved to the line between green and red. Day after that I drove it a few miles and it moved just over line into the red.

- Tested so far: See below