• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

PM fluid change out and coolant filter

Probably asked already, but I am still a newb and can't find the info. I am about to do my first PM and changing all the fluids. After reading a LOT of conflicting info, I have decided to go with Rotella T4 15w40 for the motor, Rotella SAE 50 for my tranny and transfer case, and Rotella 80w90 for the differentials and wanted feedback yay or nay. The question that I can't find answers for is this. I have read to put a non-detergent oil in the tranny.....why? Just spoke with Shell Corporation and they explained that it is yellow metal friendly and detergents were the norm for older vehicles. And looking for suggestions on how to flush the sludge out of the oil/transmission pans (without dropping them) and still be able to use the old fluids as fuel. Also changing out the coolant with Rotella ELC and considering installing a coolant filter.....again any feedback would be appreciated .

And as a side note, if you live in Central Texas the folks below sell Rotella product in bulk.

Hays City Corp
512-444-1941

simp5782

Feo, Fuerte y Formal
Supporting Vendor
Use green coolant and distilled water with SCA additive. The multifuel was not built during a time of ELC. Plus 4gal of coolant and 4gal of distilled water with additive is under $70.

Flushing the motor by using just diesel as an oil replacement is fine for a few mins. Or a mix of oil/diesel. It will release stuff but may clog the pan screen. Dropping the pan is the best way to get everything out.

Non detergent oil.
https://www.fillingstation.com/articles/earlyengineoil.htm

Tranny flush
https://r.tapatalk.com/shareLink?ur...&share_tid=37357&share_fid=20191&share_type=t