• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

6.2L Leak Head/Cover, Expert opinion needed . . .

commofreq

So, I'm used to just writing up a 2404 or 5988 and taking it to the motor pool office. As you can imagine, the first thing I did when I got my M998, was a standard-issue PMCS. But now there's no motor pool office.

That's why I need someone to please take a look at this photo and give me an opinion:

MVIMG_20180705_180209_zpsrwvkefwm.jpg

This is the rear of the motor, with the dog house removed. It's a 6.2L 1989. It looks like a Class I leak, coming out of . . . I guess that's the head or valve cover (I'm not a mechanic). Is this bad? Is this a catastrophe? Nothing to worry about?

Thank you guys very much ahead of time, for taking a gander.

Last edited by a moderator:

Guyfang

Staff member
Yes that's the head. No that's not a class one leak. First, clean off the engine with some simple green, (or something like it) and then run your truck for a few hundred miles before taking a look. I would not lose a lot of sleep over this. There is a chance that this is coming from someplace else. So get it clean, before trying to figure out what its is, and what to do.

Bulldogger

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I've got worse leaks than that and happily took my HMMWV up the side of mountains earlier this week. Clean it up and see what's really happening, then watch your oil level and see if it's losing enough to even show up as changes on the dipstick. That looks like a definite "why bother" to me, but every leak is worth watching for a few days just to confirm.
BDGR

someoldmoose