• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

My first MEP generator (MEP-802a), oil pressure gauge not working

Digger556

Steel Soldiers Supporter
My first MEP generator (MEP-802a), new issue

Hi everyone! First off this site has been a wealth of info, as I'm just getting started with MEP generators and .mil surplus in general. So big Thanks to all the contributors out there!

I picked up a non-running MEP-802a off Craigslist for cheap. The previous owner indicated it had a broken master switch and a fuel leak from the tank area. All the pieces were present minus batteries, so I picked it up.
20180907_071924-666939.jpg

This unit is older with the plastic master switch shaft. I was able to fabricate a new shaft and save the switch. The fuel leak turned out to be the return line, which was broken at the tank fitting and on top of the engine. $15 in parts and some new batteries and she fired right up and got to work making electricity. I added a fuse to the A1 regulator and have a MOV on order.
20180908_124832-666940.jpg
20180909_173833-666943.jpg
Everything works except the oil pressure gauge. It is stuck at 50 psi and I'm not sure if it's the gauge or sender. Does anyone know what the ohm range is for the sender unit so I can test it?

Thanks!

Last edited:

NormB

Looks like a sweet deal if the hours are low and it works for you.Manuals.Everything you're looking for are in the manuals which Guyfang has gracefully placed in this forum.In other words I don't have a pat answer to your question, but am redirecting you to the source.Smart that you did the quad fuse and MOV mods.Look into making screens to cover the mouse entry ports (air cooling holes), it's a good investment.Good luck.

Bmxenbrett