• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1009 wont start

Gator57

Recently purchased this vehicle and had been driving for approx. 6 months without issue. Drove it 500+ miles home from purchase point and while I did not take it over 60/65 it ran fine and got good mileage. Had started reliably since every time I turned the ignition. Recently changed the oil and drove for three days afterwards steady 20/30 miles/day. Suddenly it won't start. Cranks and cranks but no start. Drained the batteries and had to charge them, after charging it fired and ran well for 10-15 minutes. Shut down for the night and came out the next morning to verify and again crank no start. No idea what's going on as I am new to diesel but with hunting season approaching I am besides myself as most diesel shops or other shops will not even consider looking at it.

Now I am considering fuel pump, filter, injection pump, will check or replace fuel lines from tank to lift pump, it does produce smoke out tail pipes when cranking.

Any helpful though processes would help here.

Dock Rocker

What Preventative maintenance have you done to the truck? Any service to any of the filters since you have had it or fluids?

Have you tested the glow plugs to make sure they are functioning?

What is the temperature where you are? Has that changed very much lately?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

sneekyeye

You may have a fuel line leak getting air in the lines. What is your fuel filter setup like? Is it original?

You also could have a glow plug problem, either or. If it runs good once it starts, I would lean away from it being a bad injection pump.

Now if its black smoke when cranking, I would look into the glow plug system first before anything.

Hasdrubal