Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4
Results 31 to 37 of 37

Thread: MEP-804a Voltage/Frequency troubles

  1. #31
    Colonel
    Join Date
    Mar 2019
    Location
    Olympia/WA
    Posts
    240
    Thanks
    214
    Thanked 205 Times in 109 Posts

    Default

    https://www.steelsoldiers.com/showth...ator-tip/page2

    There is a pic halfway down the page. This entire thread has good info for the 802, at least look at the pictures
    Last edited by Coug; 09-15-2019 at 23:58.

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Coug For This Useful Post:

    Guyfang (09-16-2019)

  3. #32
    Private
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Homestead FL
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Guyfang,

    If this is the fuse you are reffering to, yes my Generator has it.

    Fuse.PNG

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to YohanM For This Useful Post:

    Guyfang (09-16-2019)

  5. #33
    4 Star General Guyfang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Burgkunstadt, Germany
    Posts
    6,268
    Thanks
    12,104
    Thanked 5,598 Times in 2,694 Posts

    Default

    Have you tested the fuse?

  6. #34
    Private
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Homestead FL
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guyfang View Post
    Have you tested the fuse?
    I tested the fuse for continuity and it seems to be blown. I have ordered a replacement.

  7. #35
    4 Star General Guyfang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Burgkunstadt, Germany
    Posts
    6,268
    Thanks
    12,104
    Thanked 5,598 Times in 2,694 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by YohanM View Post
    I tested the fuse for continuity and it seems to be blown. I have ordered a replacement.
    Order two, at least. Do not jump the fuse holder. The fuse is there to protect the QUAD circuit, when the volt regulator is bad, in an over voltage situation. When you put a new one in and it blows, your volt reg is probably bad. Hence, get at least two extra fuses.

  8. #36
    Private
    Join Date
    Sep 2019
    Location
    Homestead FL
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    Hey Guyfang, I finally got the fuse. Installed it, turned it on and it worked for a sec and then it blew the fuse again. It also turned on the over voltage light. Once I turned it off and on again it the over voltage light turned off and the under voltage turned on.

    Is it for sure the voltage regulator?

  9. #37
    4 Star General Guyfang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Burgkunstadt, Germany
    Posts
    6,268
    Thanks
    12,104
    Thanked 5,598 Times in 2,694 Posts

    Default

    The only reason the fuse is there is to protect the stater winding's, when the Volt reg goes into over volt mode. That's why when you started it, The S1 switch provided initial excitation. The main gen started to make power. The volt reg took over the exciter function. The volt reg was sending maybe 600 volts to the exciter winding's, so the set went into over volt mode. The fuse blew, keeping the stater winding's from being destroyed. Then you reset the fault, but it will not make power due to the fuse being blown, so it shows under volt.

    It cant be anything else.

  10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Guyfang For This Useful Post:

    Coug (10-22-2019), flydude92 (10-22-2019)

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •