• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M931 blown electrical parts - I messed up and would like help

dgilfillen

Hello all,

I have been a member for a little over a year here. I really appreciate all the help from forum topics that have been posted.

I own an M923, 929, and 931. I went a little crazy and bought three 5 tons within a few months! I also have a Unimog FLU419.

Let me start off with some background. I am an electrical engineer but I also like the mechanical side of wrenching. I have read all the TM's related to this problem and I have not been able to find what the issue could be by reading them and looking at the schematics.

I did something really stupid this weekend while warming up my M931. I started it, let it run for a bit, then turned off the battery disconnect but didn't shut the engine off for a bit. Within about 15 seconds, I saw smoke behind the amp gauge, and then POP. The gauge blew and all the dash indicator lights, buzzer, and any electric devices went out. I believe the ABS light still came on.

If I am not mistaken, by reading the TM's, the only circuit protection are two self-resetting circuit breakers in the cab, and some fuses in the ABS control circuit. Since the ABS light came on (and it was on before this event), I assume those fuses have nothing to do with the issue. Are the circuit breakers truly self-resetting?

One final piece of information - the engine shuts off now if the battery disconnect is turned off. It obviously didn't use to prior to this event. I assume that means a solenoid of some sort is closing off the fuel supply when battery power is cut.