• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

1993 6.5l H1 question

commandojd

1993 6.5l M998 question

Hello, I am pretty new to the H1s and was wondering if there are certain things you should avoid and or take into consideration when buying one? Im currently looking at a 1993 2 door with a 6.5l dieselt appears to be in very good shape...has about 50k miles on it. Just want to see if any of you have any insight or advice on these?
The guy is interested in trading for my fully restored m35a2

Last edited:

NDT

Steel Soldiers Supporter
The H1s suffered miserably from Stanadyne electronic injection pump failures, same as GM diesel vehicles of the time. Other than that, they are very similar to HMMWVs as far as reliability.

Edit: 1993 used mechanical injection unless I am mistaken.

Last edited:

papakb

50K is sort of on the high side mileage wise for a HMMWV but no where near the drop dead mileage for a diesel engine. If your looking see if it has the 4L80 4 speed trans in it. That makes them run more quietly on the road by cutting down engine noise. An easy way to tell is to look at the shifter knob, if it looks like a convoluted mushroom it's a TH400 3 speed and if the knob is cylindrical it's a 4 speed 4L80. Or just ask.............;-)

Last edited:

porkysplace

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Hello, I am pretty new to the H1s and was wondering if there are certain things you should avoid and or take into consideration when buying one? Im currently looking at a 1993 2 door with a 6.5l dieselt appears to be in very good shape...has about 50k miles on it. Just want to see if any of you have any insight or advice on these?
The guy is interested in trading for my fully restored m35a2