Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Anybody done this? Mep-531a/Mep-501a conversion

  1. #1
    Sergeant Major strycnine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Claxton, GA
    Posts
    189
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 49 Times in 33 Posts

    Default Anybody done this? Mep-531a/Mep-501a conversion

    Saw this posted on YouTube. Anyone here do this? Maybe the guy is a member here?

    M35A2 (sold)
    (2) MEP-016D
    (2) MEP-531A
    4A032-4


  2. The Following User Says Thank You to strycnine For This Useful Post:

    Light in the Dark (11-06-2018)

  3. #2
    Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wilson County, Texas
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 10 Posts

    Default

    That's my video!

  4. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to CallMeColt For This Useful Post:

    Light in the Dark (11-06-2018), strycnine (11-06-2018), uniquify (11-06-2018)

  5. #3
    Sergeant Major strycnine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Claxton, GA
    Posts
    189
    Thanks
    107
    Thanked 49 Times in 33 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CallMeColt View Post
    That's my video!


    Thanks for the info today.
    M35A2 (sold)
    (2) MEP-016D
    (2) MEP-531A
    4A032-4


  6. #4
    4 Star General rustystud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Woodinville, Washington
    Posts
    7,517
    Thanks
    2,193
    Thanked 5,916 Times in 2,948 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CallMeColt View Post
    That's my video!
    How did you adapt the gen-head to the Yanmar engine ? Was there a "kit" ?
    Give us some part numbers ! I have another MEP-501 I need to convert.
    Thanks.

  7. #5
    Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wilson County, Texas
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 10 Posts

    Default

    No kit. I did need to machine down the plate that bolts to the engine itself. The bolts lined up fine, but the shaft was a bit to short to properly mate up with the taper in the generator head. It would work but under load it slipped on the shaft. If I remember, it was ~ 0.025 total removed. Possibly using a shim on the taper would have worked as well.

    I did have some issues with removing the original adapter & tapered cap screw at the end of the shaft. This made me have to tap the threads at the end of the shaft as well.

    The biggest challenge with this was the remote start & stop. Adding the fuel pump & properly shimming it to get timing better wasn't any easy task. But, if I never messed with that, it would have been much more simple.

    12v starter change over was a huge plus as well. Then you just remove one of the pre-heaters from the circuit & no more 24v stuff to worry about.

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to CallMeColt For This Useful Post:

    strycnine (11-09-2018)

  9. #6
    4 Star General rustystud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Woodinville, Washington
    Posts
    7,517
    Thanks
    2,193
    Thanked 5,916 Times in 2,948 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CallMeColt View Post
    No kit. I did need to machine down the plate that bolts to the engine itself. The bolts lined up fine, but the shaft was a bit to short to properly mate up with the taper in the generator head. It would work but under load it slipped on the shaft. If I remember, it was ~ 0.025 total removed. Possibly using a shim on the taper would have worked as well.

    I did have some issues with removing the original adapter & tapered cap screw at the end of the shaft. This made me have to tap the threads at the end of the shaft as well.

    The biggest challenge with this was the remote start & stop. Adding the fuel pump & properly shimming it to get timing better wasn't any easy task. But, if I never messed with that, it would have been much more simple.

    12v starter change over was a huge plus as well. Then you just remove one of the pre-heaters from the circuit & no more 24v stuff to worry about.
    What was the part number of the gen-head, and where did you buy it at ?
    Thanks.

  10. #7
    Corporal
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    41
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts

    Default

    The L48s in the 501 and 531s have a J609A interface. Northern Tool currently has one J609A alternator, item 1659200, which appears to be from the Mecc Alte S15W line. These are capacitor regulated which means no external regulator or brushes to worry about. The downside is that adjusting voltage requires changing the big capacitor inside the end cover. These things are on lots of commercial generators so they should be fine for general use. http://www.meccalte.com/downloads/s15w.pdf

  11. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to DieselGenAC For This Useful Post:

    rustystud (11-10-2018), strycnine (11-09-2018)

  12. #8
    Colonel profo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    jeanerette,la
    Posts
    364
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 267 Times in 111 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by strycnine View Post
    Saw this posted on YouTube. Anyone here do this? Maybe the guy is a member here?

    If you want full wattage at 120 volts that generator has four wires , instead of common tapping two wires 2 to 3, you put wire 1 with wire 3 and tie wire 2 to wire 4 this gives you 120 at full wattage on generator. Instead of seriesing the windings you are parrelel the winding , series gives high voltage at lower current, parelel gives you high current low voltage.

  13. The Following User Says Thank You to profo For This Useful Post:

    strycnine (11-09-2018)

  14. #9
    Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wilson County, Texas
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 10 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rustystud View Post
    What was the part number of the gen-head, and where did you buy it at ?
    Thanks.
    DieselGenAC beat me to it, but here is the link;
    https://www.northerntool.com/shop/to...Search=1659200

  15. #10
    Corporal
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Wilson County, Texas
    Posts
    50
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 16 Times in 10 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by profo View Post
    If you want full wattage at 120 volts that generator has four wires , instead of common tapping two wires 2 to 3, you put wire 1 with wire 3 and tie wire 2 to wire 4 this gives you 120 at full wattage on generator. Instead of seriesing the windings you are parrelel the winding , series gives high voltage at lower current, parelel gives you high current low voltage.
    Good to know if I do it again! Thank you.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •