• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

6.2 or 6.5

biggdadd58

I realize that I am still learning about these things and apologize for all the questions. What are the pros and cons between these 2 engines? I would like to be able to drive at least 60 mph with what I purchase. I am looking for advice before looking to purchase. If you have any input, please put it out there. Or if you would be willing to talk on the phone, please message.

porkysplace

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I realize that I am still learning about these things and apologize for all the questions. What are the pros and cons between these 2 engines? I would like to be able to drive at least 60 mph with what I purchase. I am looking for advice before looking to purchase. If you have any input, please put it out there. Or if you would be willing to talk on the phone, please message.
You probably should pick 1 of your threads on the same thing instead of cross-posting the same thing with different titles and keep all the information in 1 thread.

Difference between M988 and the M998A1

[h=1]94 hmmwv[/h]
[h=1]2 Questions: Block Heaters, and 12V/24V Jump Starting[/h]
[h=1]Mileage[/h]

Transmission Swap

Last edited:

biggdadd58

Not sure how or if posting in the same thread would get questions answered. The reason for this one was to be able to hear the pros and cons between both engine combinations from actual owners.

98G

Former SSG
Steel Soldiers Supporter
If you want a sustained 60mph then you want a 4spd transmission. Neither the 6.2 nor the 6.5 will be happy at 60 for long with the 3spd behind it.

Personally I don't see a huge difference between the 6.2 and the 6.5.