• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M936A1 air line issue

rickpolak1

Good morning everyone, I'm new to collecting military vehicles and our 1st purchase was a 1987 M936A1 wrecker. Overall its in great shape and everything worked flawlessly until yesterday. We took it on a 150 mile trip to our property in Okeechobee FL and had 0 issues for the 1st 148. The last 2 miles were sugar sand roads back to the property and that's when it all went to ****. I suppose the strain on the motor pushing and pulling thru the sand elevated the engine temps. it appears that the bottom of the muffler had a weak spot from old corrosion and blew out, we could immediately hear the difference. We only had about 2 miles to camp so I proceeded on not thinking it was a big deal whatsoever. I couldn't have been more wrong! The heat from the exhaust melted all 4 air lines that connect to the discharge valves located in front of the right fuel cell. My question is this....Does anyone know of a place that sells all the hoses pre manufactured? Would be nice to find them already cut to length with both fitting on for an easy swap out. If its possible, would you be cool enough to forward the information as to who sells them? If not does anyone know where I can order the correct line and size fittings and I will fabricate them myself? Does anyone know the diameter and max pressure rating the hoses need to be and the fitting sizes? Last question, some of the lines were green and others red, what's the difference?

Thank you all in advance!
Rick

simp5782

Feo, Fuerte y Formal
Supporting Vendor