• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

m1008 front differential sounding board

kraut83

Ive been doing some reading on front differentials and the difference between open, limited slip and true lockers. I do plan on keeping my truck road worthy and it needs to be able to handle snow and ice. Im certain I have an open dif up front. I'm fairly sure from my reading that I dont want a locker. Im new to 4wd and off roading, so for now im still just gathering info.

I still want to be able to take the truck off road on the very rare occasion that I find the opportunity to, mud and rocks no sand, at least in our area. I was hoping I could get some suggestions/advice thrown at me so that I can do some more guided reading about particular differentials that might suit my desires.

Im aware that the 1028 came with a traclok up front. Is this one of the best options if im trying to stay away from added "hoses/wires" that would come with electric and hydrolic activated lockers? I imagine these units were in these truck for good reason. Do the clutch packs need to be rebuilt often? are there better options than a clutch limited slip?

As far as the truck goes, its pretty close to original with suggested mods from here. The only thing not done so far is a IP rebuild and a good electrical system cleaning. Doghead already done, all rubber replaced, all new fluids, rebuilt suspension no lift, rebuilt steering system.

Any info/suggestions welcome. Even if it side tracks some, eventually my girlfriend wants a blazer which will be her off road toy, whereas my truck needs to be a good combo of homestead workhorse and toy. Of course the truck is also the guinea pig to learn on and finish before the blazer comes along.

Last edited:

Recovry4x4