Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: MEP-803 voltage erratic

  1. #1
    Private
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    So Cal
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

    Default MEP-803 voltage erratic

    Hello, this is my 3rd 803. I hope to install one at my parents house and another at mine for emergency power. I just got this mep started after doing some cleaning up, oil, filters, anti freeze, belts, quad fuse, mov then breaking free a sticky IP, fuel lines.... After getting this one started I noticed the voltage meter readings were wobbling +/- 20 volts. I couldnít find my fluke meter at the time to see if the gage was correct.

    Has anyone else experience this before?

    This Mep has 500hours on the gauge.


  2. The Following User Says Thank You to bosko For This Useful Post:

    maniatopoulosg (01-07-2019)

  3. #2
    4 Star General Light in the Dark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    MA
    Posts
    1,335
    Thanks
    1,193
    Thanked 938 Times in 572 Posts

    Default

    Are you getting hertz fluctuation as well? I cant see all of the gauges on your video (too shiny). You should have one of these, for situations just like this: https://www.homedepot.com/p/P3-Inter...4460/202196388

    It will give you an instantaneous readout of voltage and hertz... so you can see if the gauge is lying to you or not.

  4. The Following User Says Thank You to Light in the Dark For This Useful Post:

    Guyfang (01-07-2019)

  5. #3
    General
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    503
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 610 Times in 270 Posts

    Default

    Have you tried adjusting the voltage to see if it jitters regardless of where it's set?
    MEP-831A Governor Controller Replacements for the SLC100, 2990-01-477-1371, 98-19539.
    https://www.steelsoldiers.com/showth...49#post2176649

    MEP-802A/MEP-803A Remote Start Kits

    https://www.steelsoldiers.com/showth...57#post2208457
    MEP-802A, Two MEP-831A's

  6. #4
    4 Star General
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Ripley/TN
    Posts
    1,150
    Thanks
    139
    Thanked 901 Times in 550 Posts

    Default

    That's a gauge problem. Your gauge would never be able to keep up with changes like its reading, if it was actually the generator. Use your fluke and you'll see perfect voltage.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to jamawieb For This Useful Post:

    Guyfang (01-07-2019)

  8. #5
    3 Star General Dock Rocker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Jackson ms
    Posts
    926
    Thanks
    191
    Thanked 597 Times in 333 Posts

    Default

    Yea, until you verify it with a meter there isnít much troubleshooting that can be done.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to Dock Rocker For This Useful Post:

    Guyfang (01-07-2019)

  10. #6
    General
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    South Hampton Roads, Virginia
    Posts
    417
    Thanks
    267
    Thanked 400 Times in 226 Posts

    Default

    Exercise AM-VM switch with a few squirts of contact cleaner. My switches needed some exercise to remove corrosion. Also the voltage pot.

  11. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Zed254 For This Useful Post:

    69birdman (01-07-2019), Farmitall (01-07-2019), Guyfang (01-07-2019), maniatopoulosg (01-07-2019)

  12. #7
    General
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Eubank, KY
    Posts
    430
    Thanks
    780
    Thanked 316 Times in 184 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Zed254 View Post
    Exercise AM-VM switch with a few squirts of contact cleaner. My switches needed some exercise to remove corrosion. Also the voltage pot.
    Agree, my volt meter wasn't working at all in one of my sets. Cleaned up voltage pot and S6 and exercised it and it works perfectly.

    If those rotary switches were more element proof, they would be far more reliable.

  13. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Farmitall For This Useful Post:

    Guyfang (01-07-2019), maniatopoulosg (01-07-2019)

  14. #8
    General
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Eubank, KY
    Posts
    430
    Thanks
    780
    Thanked 316 Times in 184 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jamawieb View Post
    That's a gauge problem. Your gauge would never be able to keep up with changes like its reading, if it was actually the generator. Use your fluke and you'll see perfect voltage.
    I didn't think those meter movements had that much dampening.

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Farmitall For This Useful Post:

    Guyfang (01-07-2019)

  16. #9
    4 Star General Guyfang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Burgkunstadt, Germany
    Posts
    5,410
    Thanks
    9,831
    Thanked 4,596 Times in 2,248 Posts

    Default

    Could also be a loose wire. The meter take its signal from S6. So if you mesure at the load terminals or the 120 volt outlet, and the voltage is steady, then take your readings straight from the terminals on the back of the meter. Good? Meter bad. Still not good, Go to S6, and work your way back to the meter. And like everyone has mentioned, clean out S6.

  17. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Guyfang For This Useful Post:

    dav5 (01-07-2019), Farmitall (01-07-2019), m32825 (01-07-2019), maniatopoulosg (01-07-2019)

  18. #10
    Sergeant maniatopoulosg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    89
    Thanks
    237
    Thanked 27 Times in 15 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Farmitall View Post
    Agree, my volt meter wasn't working at all in one of my sets. Cleaned up voltage pot and S6 and exercised it and it works perfectly.

    If those rotary switches were more element proof, they would be far more reliable.
    I had exactly the same problem but initially I thought my controls were just dirty but it turns out that the two left terminals on the voltage regulator wires were loose my suggestion is go through the machine carefully slowly and methodically check every screw


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  19. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to maniatopoulosg For This Useful Post:

    DieselAddict (01-07-2019), Guyfang (01-08-2019)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •