• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M35A2 Wont Crank After Battery Terminal Melted

78703TX

I've read about 10 posts so far about starters failing but haven't found a similar cause as mine so figured I would post it.

I recently got my first deuce and have been learning everything I can about it. I've been through a solid year of getting everything perfect on a surplus humvee so not a total newb but definitely have never had anything this massive before. When I got the deuce a few months ago everything seemed to work fine. I drove it about 2 hours to the south Texas ranch property where it now lives and it ran like a top. After a few weeks it wouldn't start and found I had dead batteries. They were somewhat worn so I figured I'd replace them anyway because getting stuck miles from the cabin while thermal hunting for hogs can result in a poor night's rest. As I replaced the batteries I figured I might as well throw in a cutoff switch so when it's parked for weeks at a time I wouldnt have to worry about a parasitic draw. Me, not thinking about the massive draw on 2 group 65 batteries decided to buy the cheap plastic battery disconnect and extra terminal connection from autozone. Big mistake. As I was driving home from a hunt last week the headlights started flickering, followed by tons of electrical smoke. I pulled over as quickly as I could and killed the engine. Popped the hood and there looked to be smoke coming out of the massive starter motor. I opened the battery box and sure enough the negative terminal in the wire linking the 2 batteries along with the cheap switch were both sizzling. I'll skip past the part where I had to call a giant wrecker in from 3 towns over and paid through the nose.