Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: MEP-002A Diodes

  1. #1
    Private
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Bayamon/PR
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default MEP-002A Diodes

    I have a MEP-002A which is not generating any power. I tried looking for someone to fix it, but I have been unsuccessful (live in PR). During all that hurricane Irma/Maria mess the generator kept us going (7 months without power sucks). I really would like to fix it because this thing is a beast, rock solid.

    Since I haven't found anyone I tried checking things myself, so I downloaded the technical manuals.

    Did the tests with the meter like the manual says and the voltage regulator is ok. Event tested the voltage regulator on a MEP-003A and it works. The manual says its either voltage regulator or diodes. The manual says what I have to do with schematics, but I rather look at some pictures or video if they exist before I start things. Something like what to remove, what the diodes look like (cant get much from the schematics) , etc.

  2. #2
    4 Star General Guyfang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Burgkunstadt, Germany
    Posts
    5,595
    Thanks
    10,243
    Thanked 4,846 Times in 2,348 Posts

    Default

    Will the Volt meter and or frequency meter work on the Control Panel?

    Where have you checked for output power? Just the J1 120 volt outlet?

  3. #3
    Private
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Bayamon/PR
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Guyfang View Post
    Will the Volt meter and or frequency meter work on the Control Panel?

    Where have you checked for output power? Just the J1 120 volt outlet?
    Checked outlets, the lugs as well, volt/frequency show nothing.

  4. #4
    3 Star General
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    814
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 826 Times in 438 Posts

    Default

    One thing to check that is quick and easy...try exercising the "AC Output Reconnection Switch" back and forth a few times on the distribution box. If the contacts on that large switch, with many internal switch contacts & wafers, get oxidized/corroded they can interrupt AC output. If that switch handle will not move there are ways to free it up if required.

    If that doesn't help you will have at least checked that off your troubleshooting list.
    #1 House Gen PU-751/M: 1986 MEP-002a/M116A2 w/Aux Tank & OEM cover
    #2 Spare Gen PU-751/M: 1991 MEP-002a/M116A2 w/Aux Tank & OEM cover
    #3 Shop Gen NF-2 Enclosure: MEP-002a w/Aux Tank

    * Disclaimer - My comments on this forum are based on my opinion and my experiences only. Any information or suggestions I share could sometimes be inaccurate or misinterpreted. It is your responsibility to verify any information before using or to hire a professional.

  5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Chainbreaker For This Useful Post:

    Guyfang (05-21-2019), SCSG-G4 (05-21-2019)

  6. #5
    Private
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Bayamon/PR
    Posts
    22
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chainbreaker View Post
    One thing to check that is quick and easy...try exercising the "AC Output Reconnection Switch" back and forth a few times on the distribution box. If the contacts on that large switch, with many internal switch contacts & wafers, get oxidized/corroded they can interrupt AC output. If that switch handle will not move there are ways to free it up if required.

    If that doesn't help you will have at least checked that off your troubleshooting list.
    I will check but I think that is not it either. The generator was running when it stopped giving power during the night.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Faw For This Useful Post:

    Chainbreaker (05-22-2019)

  8. #6
    4 Star General Guyfang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Location
    Burgkunstadt, Germany
    Posts
    5,595
    Thanks
    10,243
    Thanked 4,846 Times in 2,348 Posts

    Default

    When you start the set, try this. Hold the S1 in the up position, instead of letting it go. Do the AC meter and freq meter needles jump up, and stay up, as long as S1 is held up?

  9. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Guyfang For This Useful Post:

    Chainbreaker (05-22-2019), Farmitall (05-21-2019), SCSG-G4 (05-21-2019)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •