• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New M1009 -- A Couple Questions

twhill

Hello from Michigan everybody,

I am new to the world of MVs. Just got home from college and picked up a summer project, the CUCV M1009. I have spent a week reading through the forum and stickies. Really glad I found this! Sorry in advance if anything I ask has been covered, I did my best to look.

I picked up this truck non-running and it had been sitting behind a guys house for about 10 years. Got it home, cleaned up, some new diesel, new filter, and a couple batteries and she fired right up.

The first issue I came across is with GEN2, which I know has been covered a lot. I have checked through all the connections and I have all the right voltages in all the right places. When the key is in ignition the light comes on as it should, and then when started it stays on until I give it some RPMs. So when it is running it does charge, but when I turn on the lights, or a turn signal, or brake lights, it seems to stop charging and my voltage drops, which has been killing my batteries. When I turn the lights off I can hear a relay click and the voltage will go back up. I cannot figure out what's going on.

Another weird thing I noticed is that my truck only has two belts. They go around everything, but I see it should have three. Not sure what is going on there either. I am hoping to replace the old belts but I don't know if I should replace them as they are now or put on three new belts. Maybe this will help the alternator issue.

That is what I am working with right now. Sorry for the long post, I'm new.

Thanks,
Tom

IMG_7424.jpg

porkysplace

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Welcome to SS .
How old are the batteries ? Have they been load tested ?