• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1009 rear axle seal replacement

n8roro

I came out to find this today:

IMG_20190707_140413.jpg
IMG_20190707_140441.jpg

I ordered new seals and bearings for both sides, as well as the pinion seal based on some advice I saw in a search here. I replaced the diff fluid a while back so I'm kicking myself for not doing this then, but I did not think of it because I'm only a novice car guy. Is there anything else that I should do along with this task? Any idea how much time I should budget? It doesn't look like too bad of a job, but let me know if I'm wrong about that.

Oh, an the wife wants to use it to pick up sandy kids from the beach this week. Is local driving a terrible idea or ok?

Thanks for reading.

-Nate

Tinstar

Super Moderator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I would park it until it’s fixed.

Are you sure it’s the axle seal and not the brake cylinder?

If you’ve never touched the rear brakes, it would be a good idea to do them at the same time.

cucvrus

lock pin.jpgIf the pinion seal is not leaking I would let that go. That nut sets your pinion preload. From the pictures it appears that the rear axle assembly is a replacement. It looks like the drums and backing plate are red oxide primer. I would go over the entire rear brake system as outlined. It needs new wheel cylinders and don't for get to replace the lock pin bolt for the center pin. do NOT reuse the old one. It is a $5. item that saves a lot of extra work should it fail. Good Luck. If it is gear oil it will have a distinct smell of gear oil.

n8roro