• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1009 transmission service.. hopefully a bad joke?

kallisti5

Noticed some leakage from my transmission and the gaskets were looking pretty old.
Pulled pan to the standard lovely bath of ATF. (anyone have any mods adding a drain to the TH400? The "controlled spill" never seems to go well on the best of days)

Anyway, went to check the magnet for metal debris and found an entire freaking bushing.

Common issue? Bad joke of the last person in here?

IMG_20190731_121357.jpg

IMG_20190731_121408.jpg

IMG_20190731_122443.jpg

nyoffroad

It's a bit late to order a drain plug kit but NAPA might have it in stock, as far as the bushing goes it dosn't look familier but I'm no tranny expert, could be a FO waiting for the D
FOD =Forgn Object Damage

kallisti5

Cleaned the bushing up.. zero damage and it's only 1/2" OD. Maybe something from the speedo gear assembly or some other supplemental thing? Watching a rebuild of a TH400 and really not seeing any *bushings* that small involved in the core transmission functionality.

IMG_20190731_153822.jpg

Last edited:

tourus

looks to me like the filter bushing the is for the bolt that goes with a filter. I have had several 400's apart there is nothing like that inside....

kallisti5

looks to me like the filter bushing the is for the bolt that goes with a filter. I have had several 400's apart there is nothing like that inside....
HA, ok.. that's a good possibility and would make a lot more sense. I guess the joke's on me for missing it fall :?
I went ahead and ordered cucvrus's pan, I'll spend the $20 to avoid having to degrease and paint the stock one.

On a side note, noticed this while giving it a once-over...

IMG_20190731_181553.jpg