• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Need to Rebuild Steering, But Could Use Help!

DemolitionRanch

Hi! 1989 M998 HMMWV. The steering has been loose ever since I got it 2 years ago, but was not unsafe and I figured that's just how it was supposed to be. Recently it really has loosened up and has become very unsafe. The front wheels will walk all over the road, especially going 35 or faster. I can turn nearly a quarter turn on the steering wheel before the wheels start turning.

I crawled under the truck and noticed that several joints are loose. I'd like to totally rebuild all of it, it seems like it shouldn't be too hard but I have never done this on any vehicle before so I have some questions.

Can I buy just the bushings? Or do I have to buy a new idler arm and pitman arm and they come with new bushings? Those seem like my loosest components. Should I go ahead and replace the tie rod ends as well?
Anything else you would do while in there?

Annnnnd where is the best place to buy the parts, and does anyone happen to have part numbers? :) The last question is a bit lazy, but I figured it couldn't hurt to ask!!!

Thanks in advance!
Matt

Dock Rocker

I picked up an idler and Pittman arm from Black Dog custom. You can get all of the pieces and parts from them or Kascar.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

TOBASH

Father, Surgeon, Cantankerous Grouch
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I literally just did this. Look at my thread. Ongoing log of my HMMWV. Also my last several posts on what have you done lately.

I did tie rod ends. Idler arm. Pitman arm. Ball joints upper and lower. New power steering pump.

I was told to order parts from HPG, Kascar or Blackdog. I used Kascar. They will have what you need.