• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

New to the MEP-802a

kiddra

I am new to the MEP-802a world. I just purchased a unit from iron planet. I hope to pick it up in the next couple of days. This unit looks complete but it was not tested due to no batteries. It has 35 hours on the counter but I'm not sure if this is accurate. I plan to conduct all of the regular maintenance prior to attempting to start i.e. oil, coolant, new batteries, and checking fuel system out. I have seen all kind of helpful posts here on repairs. Is there anything else I should check prior to starting? I may try to soak rings with oil prior to cranking engine. Would I add oil through the injector openings by pulling the injectors? I will also conduct the excite circuit mod and MOV mod if already not accomplished. Thank for any input you could provide.

fa35jsf

Do everything you stated except the soaking the rings with oil. Just use the dead crank switch to spin the engine for 15 seconds before your first start. That will get the oil moving enough. If you pull injectors you will need to find new copper washers that seal the injectors in. Also, this thing is a pain to work on the engine because of the enclosure.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

rcamacho

Highly suggest changing out the fuel tank well plugs with brass/viton assemblies. The stock wellnuts will fail if not failed already.

Check ultimate wellnut thread...

Last edited:

kiddra