• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

6.5 engine swap

exoilfld

I am new to the hummer and am considering swapping the 6.2 to the 6.5. I have read the posts about the swap and I think I can handle it. I am wondering about the fuel delivery. Do they both use an electric pump? I heard the 6.2 uses a mechanical and the 6.5 an electric. Any advice out there?

Retiredwarhorses

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Assuming your going with the detuned 6.5, you will notice no real improvement in anything.
if it were me, I would go with a full A2 6.5 drivetrain and install TCM to make the 4 speed trans operable.
more work and money for sure, but a detuned 6.5 will do nothing for you.

Wire Fox

I am new to the hummer and am considering swapping the 6.2 to the 6.5. I have read the posts about the swap and I think I can handle it. I am wondering about the fuel delivery. Do they both use an electric pump? I heard the 6.2 uses a mechanical and the 6.5 an electric. Any advice out there?
You heard wrong, at least for the HMMWV. All HMMWVs use a mechanical fuel lift pump and mechanical injection pump. The difference in fuel delivery between the engines is how the injection pump is tuned, and the injectors used. In regular civilian vehicles using this engine, they DID switch to electronic injection pumps around the time the engine size switched to 6.5L.

Sent from my Nokia 6.1 using Tapatalk

TOBASH

Father, Surgeon, Cantankerous Grouch
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I have a 6.2 and it works just fine. There are ways to slightly increase the HP, by slightly increasing fuel delivery and increasing timing BUT if done improperly you will fry your pistons.

If you want more HP, I think you're talking about a 6.5 Turbo.