• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Rebuilding a 24v starter so it is 12v??? Possible or Not.

dconn22

I'm new to this so easy on me...
Not sure if it is true, but I read the other day that it was not difficult to convert a 24v starter to 12v [the actual starter]. I have searched and not found any info to support this. Anyone know if it is possible and if so an economical alternative if one is going 100% 12 volt [which I am seriously considering]. Also, if it is possible can it be done on both GR & DD starters? Thanks.

msgjd

Steel Soldiers Supporter
There are a couple possible scenarios involving your question:

If you want to convert your whole vehicle to 12V, you will be money ahead to put a civilian 12V starter on it instead of trying to convert the 24V starter to 12V. That's IF there is even one that fits that engine. I don't have off-hand knowledge of that parts availability.

If you have no choice but to use your 24V starter casing for whatever reason, a good shop can replace the field coils, and might have to also replace the armature (rotating center). That's IF there are commercially-available 12V internals that fit your casing and application. Again, I don't have off-hand knowledge of the availability of those particular parts. So to answer your questions, Your starter rebuild/conversion IS possible if components are available. Is it economical? No, if there is a commercial 12V starter that already fits your application.