• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Question about demil equipment

dpetty121263

I am a newbie here and just recently purchased a M-35 Duce and half but I was wondering if it is possible to own a surplus tank with all the recent laws due to terrorism? I saw a show on the history channel not long back showing rows and rows of M-551's rusting away, my question is it possible to buy a demil tank for collecting purposes and are they listed on GL website as I have not seen any but I may have not been running valid searchs?

David_4x4

If you have enough welding skills, anything is possible.

In short, the govt doesnt release much of any armor to civilians these days. And what you do get, wouldnt be enough for me to take any time into restoring it.

Bozor1000

It is even hard to get humvees. Tanks-Good luck. The way they are strict on the EUC for just a truck-Imagine if you had to submit one for a tank. They would probably do a real in depth background investigation for one of those. Just working for the Government they do a really in depth one. Imagine wanting to buy some heavy armor.

bulldog_mack13

3/3 ACR
You cant import US Armour back in the US as I have been told many a ton of people

And almost any US WW2 vehicles sells for 2 to 3 times what it sells for in Europe than the US, try buying a WW2 MB in England now or a halftrack

Elwenil

RE: demil

Or buy the M75 APC that was gogint o be scrapped a few weeks back.

I seriously doubt that much armor will make it out of the DRMO now. There isn't a lot of stuff in inventory that doesn't have some sort of composite armor that is classified in some way so it will be long, long time before any of that would make it out, if at all.

Alredneck

Banned