• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M818 trip

reb87

I have 5 boys and have been taking different ones with me to recover my m35,m109,m818 and m944 so far, they really like helping me. I took my m818 over to pick up a grain tralier inft dodge IA a couple of weeks ago and got nailed by dot right after I got into iowa (just the truck with no trailer). The officer was traveling towards me and noticed my farm license plate and thougth it was strange a military truck had a plate. In nebraska as a farmer I dont have to have a dot number or keep a log book but when I crossed state lines my farm exemption goes away even though they have the same for their farmers. I got fined $380 for no logbook,no dot number,no fuel permit(I know ignorance is no excuse but I didnt even know what a fuel permit was) I do have a cdl because I have to here to drive a tractor truck. The dot shut me down for 10hrs because of the lack of a log book. I figured if I evened the $380 out over all the recovery trips I made with no problems I could live with it but it was sure hard to wait those 10hrs. The dot guy told me if I was going to a military show or something like that that I would be exempt from those requirements. My finickey lights all worked when he did the inspection which was a relief. I didnt take any pics until I got home.
Ross/Nebraska

Attachments

ida34

Most farm exceptions to the CDL requirement have a restriction on how far from the farm you can be. It is 120 or 150 miles here in Michigan if I remember correctly.

bulldog_mack13

3/3 ACR
Is that the 818 that had thumper on it? I drove yours and another and I cant figure out which one you had.