• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Primer and WD CARC

3dubs

While I am not sure if I can even get WD CARC I have seen some people really know their paint. I live near salt water so rust is a real problem. So what is the best primer to prevent rust? I hear the WD CARC is easier to use. I am no paint pro so I think the WD would be easier. But I saw on another thread that the WD did not hold up as well to rust. Could the primer make up for it? My non-educated thought was a marine primer with WD CARC over it. But I would like to know what has or has not worked.

wdbtchr

My DTC 8606 forllift has WD CARC on it and rust pops up everywhere. Under the CARC is white paint, doesn't look like white lead but when it pops loose it rusts quickly. I'm no where near salt water.

Nonotagain

Mil-Dtl-64159 CARC (WD CARC water dispersible) does not have the corrosion resistance as a system as does the solvent based systems of Mil-C-46168 or the Mil-Dtl-53039.

The main problem lies in the primer used, either Mil-P-53022 or Mil-P-53030.

Mil-P-53022 is both lead and chromate free but contains corrosion inhibitors. Mil-P-53030 is also lead and chromate free but contains no corrosion inhibitors. While both primers are epoxy based, but corrosion inhabitation systems require a sacrificial anode to inhibit corrosion which these primers contain very little.

Mil-Dtl-64159 CARC type 2 polymeric flattening agents are coarser than the silica based pigments used in the type 1 coating. Combine the coarser topcoat pigment with a primer that contains no corrosion inhibitors and you have a recipe for premature paint system failure.