• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

I need some advice on how to go about fixing a MEP 003a

maddog

One of my MEP 003a's works fine, the other runs ok but doesnt make any electricity.

I have the manual and I am a capable mechanic and can hold my own with electricity but dont know much about electronics.

Where would I start to figure out what might be wrong with this thing?

Thanks

Carl_in_NH

Is there a troubleshooting flow-chart or process in the TM for electrical side failures? I think that's typically included. I think the TM for the MEP-017A has such a step-by-step one can follow for troubleshooting - but I've never looked at the MEP 003 TM.

For things like gensets, one typically doesn't neem much more than the TM, a multi-meter, and a clip lead or two to run through them and at least diagnose the failure to the component or sub-assembly level.

-Carl

Speddmon

Blind squirrel rehabiltator
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
did you try flashing the field after you had it running. It's supposed to flash itself when you start it, but sometimes you need to do it again. After it's running, turn the knob to start again, just for a few seconds though, this will flash the field and if everything else is in working order it should start producing power. If that doesn't work, there is a troubleshooting section in the TM like Carl_in_NH mentioned.

First look in TM 5-6115-585-12 on page 3-8 and follow that troubleshooting section. If that doesn't work go to TM 5-6115-585-34 on page 2-10 for the more detailed troubleshooting section.

maddog

Thanks guys, I was just over at smokestack reading about flashing. I have the manual but have not yet started the troubleshooting.

Tomorrow, I troubleshoot.:-D

maddog