• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

fuel issues

masonbytrade

Im new to the site and looking for advice. I've got an '84 M1008 that seems like its had a long life. The issue is that 10-15 minutes after start-up, she'll start to stumble and surge with some whitish smoke while it's happening. It does return to idle and only dies time to time. It drive perfect up until the first sputter. It's got a new tank, clean pick-up, all rusted fuel line replaced, new lift pump, new fuel filter (spin-on), new rubber hose throughout, fresh air filter and the injector pump was rebuild within the last two years. I also cleaned the fuel return check vavle and the glass plunger is clean and moves freely. I'm new to diesel troubleshooting, but from what I've heard doesn't the lighter color smoke result from the motor not being able to burn through the amount of fuel? It also seems that it happens faster if I drive on the highway after initial start-up. Also, what is the best way to bleed the lines thoroughly?

masonbytrade

Okay. Well I noticed yesterday that after I got her warmed up I cracked the lines at the injector and when cranked it spit out foam. When cold it's just fluid. So I guess I get to track an air leak.

stampy

Air was my guess! I would re check all of the connections you recently replaced chances are one fitting is not seated drawing in air (start near the filter at the rubber lines)

masonbytrade