• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

What's a Miller Matic 35 worth?

Dodge man

Like the title says, what is a Miller Matic 35 MIG welder worth? Including a full tank of 25/75 CO2/Argon, regulator, hoses, etc. Tank is about 4 1/2 feet tall but I don't know how many cu ft that is. Is there anything on one of these that I should watch out for? I'm looking at one but there's no suitable power where it's located so I have to tentatively agree to buy it before I can take it home and test it. But I have very little experience with MIG and non with this model so I'm operating blind here!

SixSpeed

Banned
I don't know too much about the old 35's. I think they came out in the 70's. From what I know it is/was an excellent welder and a lot of people still use them.

I poked around on the internet and most seem to be going for ~$500 w/ accessories like the one you are looking at it.

I'm not sure how I feel about buying it without testing...you would be putting some serious faith in the person you are buying it from.

Dodge man

I'm not sure how I feel about buying it without testing...you would be putting some serious faith in the person you are buying it from.
I agree. And the MM 35s are old enough that many are having problems with dried out caps and bad rectifiers. Easy enough to fix but expensive. The problem is that I'm not qualified to check it out!