• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

How to..... Transmission Changeout.

kendelrio

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I had to change my transmission on the deuce and threatened to write this....
How to change a transmission.

First, let me say I am not a mechanic by trade. I am mechanically inclined, but by no means do I do this for a living. This is the way I did it, and I'm sure there are a million others ways. This was the easiest for me.

I also want to thank my friends JB & Mike Seeling and Dennis Lawbrey for their time and allowing me to pick their brains!

I put it in a step by stem format because I find that the easiest to follow.

OK, here we go:

Task: Changing a deuce transmission.

Approximate time 6-8 hours. I am making the assumption you have already diagnosed you need a new transmission and have it on hand.

Tools used:
One (1) VERY good friend.
Two (2) 7/8 Combination wrenches.
Two (2) 3\4 Combination wrenches
One (1) 5/8 Combination wrench
One (1) 11/16th Combination wrench
One (1) 9/16th Wrench and socket
One (1) 7/16th Wrench and socket
One (1) Wire come-a-long 5k lifting capacity
Two (2) short 3/8 chains
One (1)Metal pole approximately 10 feet long minimum ¼” thick sides.
Approx. one (1) gallon 90 weight gear oil.
One (1) 5 gallon bucket.
One (1) small hammer
One (1) Crow bar

Difficulty: Medium (because of the weights involved and stabbing the transmission in).

Step 1: Place your deuce on level ground and chock the wheels. Put your transmission AND transfer case in neutral.

Step 2: Using your 7/16th socket remove the transmission covers from the floor of the cab.

Step 3: With your 5/8th and 11/16th wrenches, remove your gear shifter.