• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

All the stuff I did to my deuce, right here

sewerzuk

I’ve been working on my deuce on and off now for several months. I thought it was time I posted some details and pics of my build. Rather than have a dozen different posts for each project on my deuce, I thought I would consolidate it all into this one build thread.

I picked up this 1971 A2 from a seller on craigslist; he had removed the bed intending to put a wrecker body on it, but ran out of time, money, or maybe both...
The bed was full of firewood and a little bit beat up, and he wanted an extra $500 for it so I decided to let him keep it.
I talked him down to $1700; he helped me out a bit by supplying some plywood for covering the rear axles and some floormats (redneck mudflaps). I wired in the factory lights (the factory wiring harness was cut), and drove it a couple of hours back home.
The truck ran and drove perfect, but even with hearing protection, the truck was deafening at 55.
Now that it is here, I have a loosely laid plan for a resto-mod.
First I needed to obtain title and registration; I was a little concerned because the previous owner only had the SF97 and transfer forms from GL. He wrote me a bill of sale, so I had paperwork showing the "ownership trail." I insured the truck through Progressive for $16/month, then I took all of the paperwork into the DMV office. There was no problem with obtaining plates and a title...the person behind the counter was familiar with the SF97 and the only delay was in finding the manufacturer code for AM General.

Attachments

sewerzuk