• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

EMP Ready M1009 question

Scottsman

I apologize if this has been discussed in prior threads. Im a relative newbie. Purchased my M1009 last January. In great shape and I love it btw.

Here's my question: What parts must i be concerned with in the event of a strong EMP? I would like to store extra electrical parts susceptible to EMP in a faraday cage. Also, can anyone comment on the practicality of installing a Kettering Ignition System in the vehicle as a means of EMP proofing? Thanks.

Last edited:

doghead

4 Star General /Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
I have driven though many McDonald's and Burger King drive-thru and had no ill effect on my CUCV from the microwaves there. I wish I could say the same about the food...

Last edited:

niferous

There is a lot of good info on the website already about the CUCV and any possible EMP.

http://www.steelsoldiers.com/cucv/7981-emp-cucv.html

I think more and more that having a bug out vehicle is not the way to go. If you are trully worried about a wide scale EMP attack then you would probably be better served living at your BOL. Me and my wife are making plans for something like that now. We make good money working in Houston but would rather live somewhere in the mountains and make a little less. Plus that's where we want to retire anyhow so why not move sooner than later?

Oh and about the veracity of EMP attack claims. The US government has done a lot of studies on them and find them to be a real threat but it's not in the budget to protect against them right now. They are too busy taking away a nine year old girls shampoo at the airport because the container is too big.

Last edited:

Chief_919