Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast

Thread: MEP-002A and -003A main breaker

Thanks

Default MEP-002A and -003A main breaker

I have been tinkering these sets for a few years; I currently have three -002A's and two -003A's in my shop.
    I have noticed what I believe is a design problem common to all of the machines, and I'm wondering if anybody has insight or has gone down this path before...

The main breaker seems to trip far to easily when hit with a starting surge (such as an electric motor). None of my -002's or -003's will start the hydraulic power packs on my car lift, ironworker, tubing bender, air compressor, etc. The main breaker just trips instantly. However, a little 5kW coleman generator that I have kicking around has no problems with these loads. The problem is a little less pronounced (but still exists) with 3 phase loads; the -002A will start my milling machine, but not my lathe. The -003A will start my lathe, but won't start a 10HP motor under no load (same issue...breaker trips before the motor even begins to move). These loads are well within the capacity of the generators...they work fine on smaller civvy units.
    On the flip side, the 50A rating for the -002A and the 100A for the -003 is too high...it is possible to significantly overload the set with a more resistive load (such as a large welder, heater, or lighting). I believe than the main breakers should have a longer overcurrent delay, but a lower trip setpoint (30A breaker for the -002, and a 50A breaker for the -003).

I pulled the main breaker out of one of my parts sets just to see how it is put together...it has 6 main lugs (protecting the generator output), and 6 smaller lugs (appears to be protecting control circuitry inside of the generator). I couldn't find any other info on this breaker (model number) other than the manufacturer, but though a little web mining I believe that it is the Heinemann series AM-MIL.

So, on to my questions: