• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

CUCV 1009 daily driver?

ccf460

I am new to this site & mv's . I was thinking about a 1009 6.2
automatic that has 65k, no leaks.Seems to run well, military
put a new tranny in in 2007, came from a N.C. guard post. I
can't find any rust. The current owner states that he has put
new batteries, alternators , and a few other small items (I think
it can be bought for $3500.00). Are these things viable as a
relatively short distance daily driver? I am a city firefighter and
only drive to work once every 3 days, 16 mile round trip( plus
me goofing off on my off days puttering around town). This
would also be used on 180 mile intersate road trips during
hunting season towing 2 four wheelers?I am interested in the
possibility of running used veg. oil ? Does that affect maintenance issues?
I am also a volunteer firefighter in my community, and need
to leave home on a minutes notice all hours of day and night,
how bad is the whole rapid start and go? I am in NC so we have
relatively mild winters.Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

midcounty

I have been using one as a daily driver averaging 50 plus miles a day, and I love it. I don't know that it would be a good start and go vehicle unless you keep a block warmer on it during cool months. In mid 30's after 5-10 minutes of warm up I still baby it until it is up to temperature, but I don't use a block heater. Towing a couple 4-wheelers 180 miles would be nothing to a M1009. People say they don't have power, and compared to modern diesels they lack a good bit, but they still have good torque for pulling small trailers. If you want a cheap realiable no frills sport utility vehicle, the M1009s are great in my opinion. I have three I like them so much lol.