• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Adding oil to fuel of m35a2

Haroldmac

I so know this has been answered but i have had no luck finding it. sorry. I have a 1969 m35A2 with multi fuel engine. I run straight diesel in it. I had read off another wed site that i sound add some new motor oil to the fuel every so often just to lubricate fuel system. Is this true? If so what would you recommend and how much. Thanks in advance. Haroldmac.

m16ty

Steel Soldiers Supporter
It won't hurt anything if you do though. It is a multifuel, after all.

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
Back in the day when I was an over the road driver we would add a can of automatic transmission fluid to a tank of fuel to "lube the injectors". I'm not sure if this worked or was just an "old truckers tale" but we did it. Of course that was when diesel was .35 cents a gallon and a can of transmission fluid cost about 75 cents.
Your mileage may vary.

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter
Myself and Hole used to run ATF, hydraulic oil...both new of course, and motor oil as primary fuel. I also used to get free dieselgas. FedEx package car drivers are responsible for fueling their trucks at some locations, so, they would accidentally fill a diesel powered truck with gas. I would get 30 gallons of 50/50 dieselgas. The only thing I ever noticed was if too much oil, it would start hard and too much gas it would hunt at idle.

M543A2

Steel Soldiers Supporter