• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

bobbed M880/CUMMINS hybrid

m880 unimog

just a few pictures from a build i started on around 6 months ago-and am chipping away at it , as the weather/other projects/money allows.

started out with a REALLY rotten M885 , which i had been asking to buy for around ten years , it never moved , i gave up , then two years on i went around and a woman said 'sure ,take it away ' i gave her £50 for it [ $78 usd] went round the next day with a wrecker,some batteries,fresh gas and water and drove it out of her yard! MOPAR all the way.

it was in a real mess with weeds up inside,the freeze plugs had jumped out the block and the front clip was rotted away totally in the radiator mount area,the door bottoms were gone , the wings were on the way top and bottom , still it was for cheap and it ran sweet , worst ways it would be a good spares truck for my M890....this is how it always starts!!!

anyhow we fixed the truck up with some silicon around the fresh plugs,new oils and filters plugs n leads and some lumps of timber screwed to the front clip-and ran it around off road for a few months , next i checked the oil after a short lay up and it was milky white,so i got a cracked block or blown gasket , with many other vehicles to fix up and too many shows to do [in those days]-the dodge was parked at the back of the bull beef barn and forgot.
eight years on.....
i get a clean SUMB thrown in with a deal,these are like unimogs but with ford V8 FLATHEADS and they are FUGLY,i mean super FUGLY only certain russian trucks are uglier-anyhow a good friend races oldskool rods and needed a fresh v8 flathead-