• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Bought my first Deuce, brakes seem weak

welldigger

Wednesday of this week i took delivery of my first deuce. She made the four hour drive

from Monroe LA to Shreveport LA with no problems.....except I must stand all 165

pounds of me on the brake pedal to have a prayer of stopping. I keep reading threads

stating that other members can lock their brakes up. I did a search and I'm not sure any

of the threads I read describe my problem. I'm new to the deuce so forgive me if this has

been covered already. I seem to have a full pedal. If I pump the brakes then the pedal

gets firmer just like with any other hydraulic brake system I have dealt with. I seem to

have good air pressure so im suspecting my air pack is the problem. When I push the

brake pedal i hear a hiss of air escaping. It does this when I'm pushing/holding/ and

releasing the brakes. It will even hiss a second or 2 after I let off the pedal. Is that

normal? Again I believe the air pack is going to need to be rebuilt. But, I'm not positive

on this. All suggestions would be appreciated. Also, I have the new style/ short air pack

on my truck. Is there a TM on rebuilding these? Or is there someone who has rebuilt

one that could steer me in the right direction? Where would I find a rebuild kit for one of

these?

Ranger390

Sounds like the air pack for sure. In the TMs list on the site there are older TMs and Newer ones, maybe the newer TMs would cover what you have. Warrens a pretty good dude and hes holding onto a trailer for me so I'll be doing business with him again. Good luck with the Deuce, I'm sure you'll get it fixed right up.

welldigger