• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Can I run tires without the runflats and PVC inserts?

mynameisjonas

I am new to working on these trucks, so please bare with me. I had already researched this online, but I have not found a definitive answer.

I am helping a friend with his H1 and I need some help with replacing the tires. It is currently running the 12 bolt two piece wheel with runflats and the blue PVC beadlock inserts. I am replacing the tires with the same Goodyear MT's and wanted to know if I can run these without the runflats and inserts.

Also, I noticed some red sealant on the rubber o'ring that was used before. Do I need to use any sealant in addition to the new o'ring? Thanks in advance.

Jbulach

Steel Soldiers Supporter
You can run 16.5’s with out bead-locks but don’t air down. Clean out the sealer replace the O-rings with new and use rubber lube on them.

Dock Rocker

No. You can’t. You need the insert to have something for the bead to seal against.

You may be able to get it in and seated but if you put it in any sort of bind you will have a flat.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

lowell66dart

Steel Soldiers Supporter
I am not an expert but this is the little I know. 16.5 wheels have a 15 degree lip where the tire rides. This was for stiff truck tires to be easy to seat. We have stiff truck tires.
Most wheels now have a 5 degree lip to really hold the tire well.
I am under the opinion that you can run without runflats but as stated above if you air down it gets iffy. In fact I am going to mount a new set of tires tomorrow without them but I will not and never have had a reason to air down for what I do with my trucks. Lots of trucks on the road with 16.5 tires and no runflats. They came from the factory that way.