• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

CUCV Oil/Fuel Leak

jplace1011

I have a 1985 CUCV and there is a leak, which I’m not sure if it’s oil or fuel. Pardon my uncertainty, I’m not a mechanic or even very mechanically inclined. I thank you for any input.

I just had the valve cover gaskets redone (RTD), as well as an oil pressure gauge installed.

I wonder if it’s a result of the recent work or something else. The good thing is the leak doesn’t appear to be from the upper half of the engine, from what I can tell it’s from the lower third of the engine. The fluid seems to start appearing from around the exhaust pipe on the drivers side and around the back edge of the tire on the passengers side. The fluid also seems to be more prominent on the passengers side.

Anybody have any ideas or input? I’m wondering if it’s the rear main seal (2 mechanics have said it’s not that but I don’t know), flywheel, or a number of other things.

Here are some pics and videos for reference:

When I got home and parked the vehicle I found spots underneath. Pic below

It looks like oil, but once I got underneath and inspected I found a big wet mess. Pics below

I also shot two quick videos:

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Jeepadict