• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Deuce won't start

Jim D

I've had this 1963 multi-fuel Deuce for 6 years and it has always started immediately. I had some older diesel fuel in the tank and I got worried it was too old so I drained it about 5 months ago (it was clean and clear) and replaced it with fresh diesel fuel. I have been busy with all this Covid-19 stuff and went to start the beast last week. It turned over easily and on the third try it fired up for 15 seconds then died. No start since. I am not a diesel mechanic by any means, but I like to wrench on cars (and now trucks). After reading the forums I first checked the fuel pump. It is running and making 4-5 psi on a gauge on top of the tank. I then checked the shut off valve and the arm moves easily from 4-7 o'clock position. I put the cover back on. I opened the petcock on the bottom of the primary fuel filter and - NADA. Even with the fuel pump running, nothing comes out. What is the next step? I'm thinking change all the fuel filters. Could there be a blockage in the fuel line from the pump to the primary filter? Should I remove the main fuel line from the filter housing and see if I get flow that far first? Did I make a massive air pocket in the lines when I drained the fuel tank?
Any help would be appreciated.

Floridianson

Steel Soldiers Supporter