• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

exhausted from manifolds

butch atkins

have had to put 3 exhaust manifolds due to cracks on my m211,spent last saturday at junkyard pulled 3 int/exh mans to get 1 good one,6 hours labor,busted knuckles,125.00, is any one else having this problem,do it by the manual each time ,thinking about machining manifold flat before installing,the one i have has a bow to it ,you can slide 2 quarters under the inside flanges with it laying flat on the floor,am tool and die maker by trade so machining isnt problem,anyone else have any ideas about how to solve this problem? i dont think double stacking gaskets is a good idea,but am open to new ideas ,last one cracked in 2 places,and im tired of redoing this job

badgmc56

After installing the manifold , do you retighten when the manifold is hot? That has worked for me on many strait-sixes .The manifold has to be true of course first. I'm looking into performance exaust for my truck. I may even try to make a set of headers for it.

nattieleather

I had that on my 211 could never get that thing to seal up. I had the manifold machined and it made it worse. What you need is to pull the head and have the intake exhust and head all machined together. I've been told that the "o-rings" are very important to the operation of sealing of the manifold.

M543A2

Steel Soldiers Supporter