• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

GovPlanet Humvee Arrival and Inspection

jake20

Greetings!

After only about 3 weeks from auction date to delivery (absurdly fast, I know), I got the chance to start playing with it yesterday. I'll use this post a both something informative for others buying off GovPlanet, and also ask some questions that I haven't gotten around to googling yet if anyone is feeling helpful. Pictures will be attached, maybe more tomorrow or Friday when I get to work on it again.

Pretext: My purchase is an M1043A2 slantback, it was a non-runner as described in the auction. I'm not a mechanic but am mechanically inclined enough to feel like dealing with the wonderful surprises I'll be sure to discover.

Truck arrives, we get it offloaded from the trailer. I start by checking most of the fluids essential to getting it running:

1: Engine oil - at least 6 or more quarts low
2: Transmission fluid - I added 4 quarts of fluid and I'm still low, although what was on the dipstick looked very clear red and clean
3: Front differential - level was good and fluid was very clear yellow
4: Rear differential - bone dry, added enough 80w-90 to roll it around for now
5: Coolant - reservoir empty - system was at least 3/4 full though after adding water
6: Transfer case - Couldn't get to it as I didn't have the right socket for the fill plug, anyone know what size it is off their head?
7: Power steering - haven't checked it yet, although it groans when turning the wheel when not moving, so it's probably low
8: Geared hubs - haven't checked yet, placed an order for the much safer bluehummer spindle lock nuts, so I'll deal with those when they arrive
9: Brake fluid - haven't checked yet, planned for tomorrow