• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Hello

Mullaney

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Supporting Vendor
My name is Michael I stumbled across this site and I was blown away. I have been looking at getting a duece for quite some time. Just looking for some expert advice on what to look for and what not to buy.
Hi Michael,

I am new to this outfit as well. Maybe something from "the new guy" will be useful to you... I wanted a truck with a lifting boom on it. A way to reach over, pick something up and put it on a trailer or whatever. So I did a little digging and decided on a M936 which is a 5 Ton Medium Wrecker.

Just based on what I have encountered - you should spend some quality time looking into what you want. If you go for a Duce that has a winch on the front and the cargo bed on the back it will be a big truck. A little less complicated than what I ended up with but still a lot to consider. The one thing I have figured out for sure is that you can spend a lot of money and not necessarily get a better truck. Cheap at government auction isn't especially a great thing either. Sometimes you can find gold and other times - well it smells bad and isn't any fun to be around.

My particular truck came out of Ohio. The land of salt and slag. I am battling rust. Not that I didn't know that, but some of it has been a surprise. Surprise generally = dollars spent... It works out for me because in my 20's I worked on MV's for a living. I have the tools and a place (not inside unfortunately) to work. I can say that in my case (60 days in) that I fix one thing that seems to lead to something else that needs repair. I bought my truck knowing that - and I am happy with my decisions to this point.