• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Decision on a knuckle boom crane.

DB556

Well, to preface I have a 1969 M35a2c with a D turbo, air shift, hardtop ect. I'm going to convert is to a long bed 4x4, pulling the mid axle, deuce front springs with air bags.
Currently its sits on power king 9-20's tires. But I have a set of MVT 395s on M35a3 wheels just waiting for me to flip the hubs.

I have a hydromax2 booster, master and remote reservoir, coming for a split brake system, and some parts to do a disc conversion
after I had a wheel cylinder blow out in the front hub last week going down a steep trail. That was fun.

I have a line on a HF45 box for power steering, and a vbelt power steering pump, which will run the power steering and hydromax brake booster.

I currently have 3200REL Liftmoore service truck crane mounted at the rear corner of the bed. Which had been a big help moving things around
But is limited to lifting capacity, straight out at full extension 15 feet I have a weight capacity of ~600 pounds. Recently I've had to move a lot of my equipment
which I was storing in my buddies warehouse, Milling machine, cnc router plasma table, etc. And I've run up against the limits of the crane.
My milling machine is a Cincinnati toolmaster which weight about 2500lbs. And I need to move it nearly at the max of 15ft so I had to use prybars, rollers, and winches.
(I know what will have to thank for my future hernia)

Now I have a line on a Hiab 650A knuckle boom crane, it needs some work doesn't have a pump, will need mounted to the frame instead of the bed.etc
But it has significantly more capacity and reach straight out at maximum hydraulic extension 16' feet(5 meters) it has a capacity of 2645lbs (1200kgs),