• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

hemtt won't start, fuel issue

builderboy

Hello all!! my 977 has been running great with no problems until lately, fuel issue! It will not even fake wanting to start. I've pulled of a rubber hose about 6" around and hit it with either and boom! It's ready to run. Now since I'm not a diesel expert and a guy that helps me with my diesel problems is out of town for work, I thought I'd give it a shot. I asked a couple of other guys and was told to not undo any fuel lines because they could have some high pressure in them and I might do more harm than good. Tank is 1/2 full, checked the electric shut off and it appears to be in the correct position, Fuel filter looks old, could it be full of water somewhere? This thing has always fired right up, then on day I go to move it and it won't. I'm hoping its something simple and not an injection pump. Any one have any ideas? I have the basic understanding of diesel's just stumped on what it might be?

Thanks !!:idea:

Jericho

Builder boy, STOP, working on that HEMMIT immediately, (ill come down and get it , save you all the turmoil, ) Lucky guy to have one, suspect they are going to get a s rare as hens teeth real soon. good luck on your trouble shooting, !

wreckerman893

Possum Connoisseur
If it lost prime you will need to slightly pressurize the system to get it to crank. Detroits are notoriously hard to start after being ran dry. Check your fuel cap and see if a Schrader valve has been installed. You don't need a lot of pressure.

You need to find the underlying cause before you try to prime it.

WillWagner

The Person You Were Warned About As A Child
Super Moderator
Steel Soldiers Supporter