• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

HMMWV Mysteries

captcarc

Sorry...site technical challenges! I am new to HMMWV's. I've had a deuce and a half and have a 5-ton. Wanted to ask what these 3 things are. 3 hood pins to hold a bracket or something? Center wheel thing? Bracket outside of tailgate? Thank you!!!

juanprado

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Brackets on hood and rear tailgate are to hold thermal combat Id panels.

They are typically not available and removed when vehicles are stripped of restricted items by drmo.

Brackets on wheels are to attach cables for air transport by helicopter.

I would be interested in the ones on the hood if you are removing them.

captcarc

juanprado, thank you VERY much! That makes sense but I'm not quickly finding pics of installed TIPS. The hood is a 3-point mount? And how does the tailgate mount work? I plan to retain the brackets. Thanks again!!!

Coug

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Brackets on wheels aren't for helicopter sling, there are frame points on the back of the truck for that.
(helicopters lift from a central point, or forward and rear points on a Chinook, and there is nothing that would keep the cables spread so as to not crush the HMMWV fenders if it were to be lifted be these points from a helicopter) (P.S. I was in a helicopter unit that had both Chinooks and Blackhawks, and watched more than a few sling loads)

There is actually some debate about those brackets, but the normally acceptable answer is they are used for a type of self recovery using a rope/line and a bent metal bar, to act as a winch.
The other answer I've seen is for tying down to skid pallets when being air dropped or for rail transport, but I can't find anything to back up that idea.