• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

Just purchased my 2nd MV...M38A1

Maverick1701

*PICS added* Just purchased my 2nd MV...M38A1

Finally got around to adding some pictures...see post 4. As we all know...pics or it didn't happen.

Hey guys! I had been hunting for a new project/toy for a few months now. I finally found it.
I just purchased my 2nd military vehicle, a locally owned M38A1 (my first MV being my 1967 Kaiser Jeep M35 6x6).
My parents borrowed my M35 for a parade down by dallas. They liked it so much they bought it (made me an offer I couldn't refuse...also it's family). I have been wanting to own another MV since they purchased my M35.

The jeep has been sitting since 2002 (when it was last tagged). The plus side is that out here in the TX panhandle rust is practically non existent so most old vehicles age very well.

After service, it ended up with our local fire department (still has VERY faded MFD Markings). After MFD service it was sold to the current owner, and now to me.

No pictures yet but I will post pictures tomorrow.

I am hoping to have it back to my house tomorrow evening (9/26 or the 9/27 at the very latest). I went out tonight and completed some basic maintenance (aired up tires, check brakes, etc). Even after sitting for all those years, the tires still aired right up and are holding air.

Obviously this is going to be a project/toy vehicle. I am not in a huge hurry to get it completed since I have all the time in the world.

Nothing too special about the jeep. It is your basic M38A1. Somewhere down the line, someone installed a PTO which is pretty neat I guess.

I really don't have any questions yet. I am going to gather all the TMs and then start tearing into it.

Last edited:

clinto