M1009 wanted

Steel Soldiers is supported by:

faststandard

I'm new to Steel Soldiers but have been lurking for a while. I have got the bug to get a M1009. I found one local that is solid but ratted out on the inside and the asking price is too high. Does anybody have a nice low mileage unit that they would be willing to part with?

D6T

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Honestly, speaking as someone who has BTDT, with relatively low mechanical skill...if the vehicle meets your bare minimum requirements (runs and drives, straight body, etc), consider making an offer on it as a project. Don’t be discouraged just because some aspect of it is ratty.

I’m glad I didn’t buy a perfect M1009 as it would have cost me a fortune to pay others to fix it. I’ve done all except the most complex mechanical work. In the process I gained confidence in my abilities and learned a ton about the M1009. These vehicles aren’t getting any younger and the more work you can do yourself, the better off you will be in the long run. Unless you possess solid mechanical skills, the only way to learn is by doing.

faststandard

Thanks for the reply and for the insight. I have got the skills and tools to take on a project - my oldest son and I are going to work on it together. The truck itself is very clean (originally from Arizona National Guard) with no rust and is pretty straight (minus a few dents) although it was painted an incorrect color. Like I said, the interior needs some work - the dash and door panel are from an older civilian truck and they are not correct and do not fit correctly. The good news is that the starter, injection pump, injectors, and glow plugs are all new NOS parts and the truck runs/drives good. The other bad is that the guy is asking $6000.

porkysplace

Steel Soldiers Supporter