• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M1078 100amp alternator charging issue

DiverDarrell

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Looking for help to diagnose why my alternator is not charging. The voltage regulator 14v light is solid red. Steps taken so far

1. Charged batteries
2. Replaced the N3207 regulator with a new one
3. Ensured all cables are tight that i could find
4. checked the K11 relay, and switched with a couple known to work

Is there anywhere where one could find a simple diagram on how the charging system is wired?

Should i try and jumper from the 24v+ to the E on the voltage regulator? in the niehoff wiring guide i see that there is a switch in there between the 2.

Overdrive

I have zero experience with charging issues to date however, for what its worth, there was a bulletin about an issue with a fusible link failing that caused charging issues and was discussed within the forum. Somewhere right on the generator. bulletin told units to remove the link completely. I would have to do some digging to find the procedure but thought I would mention it anyway.

OD

Suprman

Supporting Vendor
Disconnect both leads to the regulator. Tape up and abandon them. Take the outer connection on your fuel solenoid and run it around the engine to the positive 24 volt lead on the alt regulator.

DiverDarrell

Steel Soldiers Supporter
Disconnect both leads to the regulator. Tape up and abandon them. Take the outer connection on your fuel solenoid and run it around the engine to the positive 24 volt lead on the alt regulator.