• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

M920 towing questions

We are having our M920 towed off site tomorrow due to only one loadout a month in Topeka. Needless to say it's hard to line up an RGN with timeframes like that.

The towing company is planning on towing the truck back to their lot approx 10-15 miles. I'm new to the M920's. The tow truck will have air for the M920. I have a M920 manual on order but haven't received it yet! What is the correct way to tow one of these trucks for transmission placement and transfer case?

If somebody that owns and is familiar with the M920 model could PM me their phone number I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Andy

Nonotagain

We are having our M920 towed off site tomorrow due to only one loadout a month in Topeka. Needless to say it's hard to line up an RGN with timeframes like that.

The towing company is planning on towing the truck back to their lot approx 10-15 miles. I'm new to the M920's. The tow truck will have air for the M920. I have a M920 manual on order but haven't received it yet! What is the correct way to tow one of these trucks for transmission placement and transfer case?

If somebody that owns and is familiar with the M920 model could PM me their phone number I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thanks,
Andy
Andy,

I don't own a M920 but have towed quite a few tractors over the years.

I wouldn't worry about transfer case or shifter position, just have the tow company remove the drive shaft. Have them tape the caps in place so that they don't loose the needle bearings and life should be good.

Some folks remove the axles, but I don't like the mess of gear oil getting all over the wheels and tires, plus I hate the smell of gear oil.

Floridianson

Steel Soldiers Supporter