• Steel Soldiers now has a few new forums, read more about it at: New Munitions Forums!

• Microsoft MSN, Live, Hotmail, Outlook email users may not be receiving emails. We are working to resolve this issue. Please add support@steelsoldiers.com to your trusted contacts.

My Hurricane Humvee is Back Alive!

bdhummerman

Interesting situation with the hurricane that hit - rescued my cars as surge came in - wife wanted humvee for post storm vehicle or emergency so we left it in our driveway.

surge was way more substantial than news was reporting for our area. We got 6 to 7 feet of water - total disaster zone, our homes are built and did very well in North Naples but lower levels, boats, vehicles, etc. are tossed everywhere. There’s a 40 foot sailboat in my neighbors yard. The humvee did not float like all my neighbors cars and totally disappeared under the water

New Batteries and all exposed connections cleaned - opened start box and it was perfectly dry. I have a master mechanic who is a wizard help me.

All the water goes to the bottom of all the components. The key was to leave everything alone until ready to put in new fluids.

engine had gallons of water that came out before oil did, blew water out cylinders. Drained transmission (worst part) and pumped fluid through it and ouuntil fluid was right color (minor water infiltration but it was there)

fuel tank had gallons of water, but again it all goes to bottom so we cracked plug and drained until it switched to diesel - treated fuel after.

master cylinder had superficial amount but needed cleaned out

diffs and geared hubs all had water.

Truck was coated head to toe in a thick mud that is the worst part of this storm - it’s everywhere.

End result - vehicle runs beautifully. The engine specifically runs perfect no smoke, no blow by, just perfect.

part of this I believe is that it was parked and flooded and wasn’t running during intrusion.

crazy thing - won some bets rolling around neighborhood in it.